ATC 6×6 Tactical Truck + Instructions!

25 07 2011

DSC_2076

A model of IDF’s tactical truck. This truck is fully operational today over at the Israeli Defense Forces.


When I started looking for a model to build I wanted to build something the IDF uses, because I saw many other builders building vehicles their own countries use, so I wanted too ;). So I looked around a bit and found many old and rusty truck and the ATC 6×6- a new released tactical truck. When I looked into details I saw that the ATC company is based on Tatra, I found it funny building another tatra. But yet again I redesigned the mechanisms of the gearbox and some of the hubs and it performed great.

As for the truck itself, from this experience I learned that the 6×6 transmission with 2 back axles and one front acts better than 2 front axles and one back. Also I think I managed to distribute the weight of the truck better over the axles. Because the cab and the steering motor were still too heavy for the front axle I had to put 2 shock absorbers for every wheel.

So what do this truck has after all:

  • 6×6 Transmission (With 2 batteryboxes and 2 XL motors)
  • 2 Speeds Gearbox
  • Full Independent Suspension
  • Front Headlights and License Plate
Some more photos can be found HERE.
Video:
The Instructions to build this model can be found in the Instructions tab at the bar up in this page.
Actions

Information

4 responses

5 09 2011
Lego Toys

I saw your blog’s link put up by a friend on Facebook. Thank you for putting useful information on the net. It’s hard to come by these things nowadays. Now this truck is cool Im going to build it thanks for the instructions, love your blog..

5 09 2011
yoraish

Glad to hear that, thank you!

11 11 2011
Chris

I agree that truck is really awesome! It’s amazing that RC vehicles are so commonly used in the armed forces. It’s also neat to make scale versions like these.

14 07 2012
Leo

Where do i get the briks for this Trucks?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

