MAZ 543403

31 03 2010

Model of Maz 543403 truck.  Meant to drive in very rough terrain.

Specs:

  • Front pendular suspension
  • 2 NXT motors drive
  • 4x4x4
  • Fully remote controlled

This truck has a brand new front and back axle design. It is steered and strong but unfortunately has no place for a differential. The truck is powered by 2 NXT motors and steered by one. As the truck is 4x4x4- All its wheels are driven and steered as well. This gives it great  grip on the surface and the ability to make sharp turns.

As I finished the chassis I noticed the gap between the wheels was large and there was a chance of making a large scale model. I had put a lot of effort and time making this truck look alike a real one. At the end it got:

  • A full size cabin
  • Full cabin interior
  • Steering wheel
  • Back black “thingy” thing

Al my last remote controlled models where controlled via another NXT brick. That was borrowed from a friend of mine. Now I will buy one!! But until it will arrive I’m controlling the it from a mobile phone.(The brick works better)

So After having some serious off-road test on it, I’m pretty satisfied from its performances. I wish I could join and compete at the polish GPM…..

(the polish lego truck trial competition)

Actions

Information

7 responses

5 10 2011
Paul

I like your portal axles – can you show how you built the steering and drive, please?

5 10 2011
yoraish

I’m sorry but this model is disassembled for a long time. You can get some help from my newer project that does have instructions or just ask some more specific questions and I’ll do my best to give you good answers.

6 10 2011
Paul

Hi,

thanks.
I can see the drive to each axle “box” is supplied through “technic-knob-wheels” – did you use universal-joints to allow the axles to steer? Did you use rack-and-pinion steering? I’m trying to copy your design for an NXT controlled truck, but some bits I just can’t figure out from your pictures.

Thanks for your help 🙂

Paul

6 10 2011
yoraish

Yes for both questions. I used rack and pinion and U-joints. Good luck building!

7 10 2011
Paul

Thanks for your help again!

I’ll post a link to a picture when I get it finished 🙂

Paul

12 11 2011
Paul

Well – I got there in the end thanks to all your pictures 🙂

I’ve had to put in diff’s on both axles and separate the drive motors to act like a centre diff, otherwise it self-destructs when turning on full lock! I’m still having problems with slipping gears driving the diff’s, but it’s almost there 🙂

I’m trying to make it fully autonomous, hence the US sensor in the front bumper…

Thanks for your help on this,

Paul

21 10 2012
Will

Hi I was wondering if you could make a simple NXT version of a trial truck.

Will

Leave a Reply

